July 17, 2024
The Pakistan Cricket Team: A Challenge for the World

The Pakistan Cricket Team: A Challenge for the World

The Pakistan Cricket Team: A Challenge for the World

Pakistan, the 1992 champions, is one of the most unpredictable and exciting teams in the world, with a rich history and a loyal fan base. The team won one World Cup, in 1992, and has reached the semi-finals or finals four times. The team is currently ranked sixth in the ICC Men’s ODI Rankings for Teams, behind India.

The Pakistan cricket team is ready to participate in the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup 2023, which will be hosted by India from October 5 to November 19. The team, led by Babar Azam, has a balanced and talented squad, with some experienced players and some young stars. In this blog post, we will look at Pakistan’s squad, schedule, performance in the previous edition, and their chances of winning the trophy for the second time.

Pakistan Squad for ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup 2023

Pakistan have announced a 15-member squad for the World Cup, with some changes from the one that reached the semi-finals in 2019. Here is the full list of players:

  • Babar Azam © (batter)
  • Shadab Khan (allrounder)
  • Fakhar Zaman (opening batter)
  • Imam-ul-Haq (opening batter)
  • Abdullah Shafique (top-order batter)
  • Mohammad Rizwan (wicketkeeper-batter)
  • Saud Shakeel (middle-order batter)
  • Iftikhar Ahmed (allrounder)
  • Salman Ali Agha (allrounder)
  • Mohammad Nawaz (allrounder)
  • Usama Mir (bowler)
  • Haris Rauf (bowler)
  • Hasan Ali (bowler)
  • Shaheen Shah Afridi (bowler)
  • Mohammad Wasim (bowler)

Some of the notable inclusions are Abdullah Shafique, Saud Shakeel, Salman Ali Agha, and Usama Mir, who have performed well in the domestic circuit and have earned their maiden World Cup call-ups. Some of the notable exclusions are Naseem Shah, who was ruled out due to injury, Mohammad Hafeez, who retired from ODI cricket after the 2019 World Cup, and Wahab Riaz, who was dropped due to poor form.

Here is a table for the team players using name and type:

Babar AzamBatter
Shadab KhanAllrounder
Fakhar ZamanOpening batter
Imam-ul-HaqOpening batter
Abdullah ShafiqueTop-order batter
Mohammad RizwanWicketkeeper-batter
Saud ShakeelMiddle-order batter
Iftikhar AhmedAllrounder
Salman Ali AghaAllrounder
Mohammad NawazAllrounder
Usama MirBowler
Haris RaufBowler
Hasan AliBowler
Shaheen Shah AfridiBowler
Mohammad WasimBowler

Pakistan Schedule for ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup 2023

Pakistan are placed in Group B along with India, Australia, Bangladesh, New Zealand, England, Sri Lanka, and Netherlands. They will play eight matches in the group stage, with the top four teams advancing to the semi-finals. Here is Pakistan’s schedule for the World Cup:

October 6NetherlandsRajiv Gandhi International Stadium, Hyderabad08:30 UTC
October 10Sri LankaRajiv Gandhi International Stadium, Hyderabad08:30 UTC
October 14IndiaNarendra Modi Stadium, Ahmedabad08:30 UTC
October 16AustraliaNarendra Modi Stadium, Ahmedabad08:30 UTC
October 20BangladeshMaharashtra Cricket Association Stadium, Pune08:30 UTC
October 24New ZealandHimachal Pradesh Cricket Association Stadium, Dharamsala05:00 UTC
October 28EnglandEden Gardens, Kolkata08:30 UTC

Pakistan Performance in ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup 2019

Pakistan had a mixed performance in the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup 2019, finishing fifth in the table in the group stage with five wins and three losses. They missed out on qualifying for the semi-finals by a narrow margin of net run rate. They started off with a heavy defeat to West Indies but then bounced back with a stunning win over England. They then lost to Australia and India but then won four consecutive matches against South Africa, New Zealand, Afghanistan, and Bangladesh.

Some of the key players for Pakistan in the 2019 World Cup were Babar Azam, who scored 474 runs and became the second-highest run-scorer for Pakistan in a single edition of the World Cup behind Saeed Anwar, Mohammad Amir, who took 17 wickets and became the second-highest wicket-taker for Pakistan in a single edition of the World Cup behind Wasim Akram, Haris Sohail, who scored 198 runs and became the highest run-scorer by a number four batter for Pakistan in a single edition of the World Cup, and Shaheen Shah Afridi, who took 16 wickets and became the youngest bowler to take a five-wicket haul in a World Cup match.

Pakistan Chances of Winning ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup 2023

Pakistan have a decent chance of winning the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup 2023, as they have a dynamic and talented team that can surprise any opposition. They have a strong batting line-up that can score runs and handle pressure. They have a varied bowling attack that can take wickets and create chances. They also have some quality all-rounders who can contribute with both bat and ball. They have a proven record of winning in India, as they won the World Cup in 1992 and the Champions Trophy in 2017.

However, Pakistan also face some challenges and threats in their quest for glory. They have to cope with the absence of some key players like Naseem Shah, Mohammad Hafeez, and Wahab Riaz, who were part of their 2019 squad. They have to deal with some tough competition from other teams like India, Australia, New Zealand, and England, who have their own strengths and ambitions.

Pakistan will have to play their best cricket and overcome all the obstacles to achieve their dream of becoming the second team to win two World Cups. It will be a fascinating and exciting journey for them and their fans.

I hope you enjoyed reading this blog post about the Pakistan cricket team for the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup 2023. Please share your thoughts and comments below. Thank you for your time and attention. 😊

Leave a Reply

Discover more from World's Wind

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue Reading