July 23, 2024
New Zealand Cricket Team

The New Zealand Cricket Team: A Journey of Resilience and Excellence

New Zealand Cricket Team

New Zealand, the runners-up of the last two editions, is one of the contenders to win the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup 2023, which will be held in India from October 5 to November 19. The team, led by Kane Williamson, has a balanced and skilled squad, with some fresh faces as well. In this blog post, we will look at New Zealand’s squad, schedule, performance in the previous edition, and their chances of winning the trophy for the first time.

New Zealand Squad for ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup 2023

New Zealand have announced a 15-member squad for the World Cup, with some changes from the one that lost to England in a thrilling final in 2019. Here is the full list of players:

  • Kane Williamson © (top-order batter)
  • Trent Boult (bowler)
  • Mark Chapman (allrounder)
  • Devon Conway (wicketkeeper-batter)
  • Lockie Ferguson (bowler)
  • Matt Henry (bowler)
  • Tom Latham (wicketkeeper-batter)
  • Daryl Mitchell (allrounder)
  • Jimmy Neesham (allrounder)
  • Glenn Phillips (wicketkeeper-batter)
  • Rachin Ravindra (allrounder)
  • Mitch Santner (allrounder)
  • Ish Sodhi (bowler)
  • Tim Southee (bowler)
  • Will Young (top-order batter)

Some of the notable inclusions are Devon Conway, Glenn Phillips, Rachin Ravindra, and Will Young, who have performed well in the recent series against Bangladesh and Pakistan. Some of the notable exclusions are Martin Guptill, who was dropped due to poor form, Colin de Grandhomme, who was replaced by Mark Chapman, and Tom Blundell, who was replaced by Glenn Phillips.

Here is a table for the team players using name and type:

Kane WilliamsonTop-order batter
Trent BoultBowler
Mark ChapmanAllrounder
Devon ConwayWicketkeeper-batter
Lockie FergusonBowler
Matt HenryBowler
Tom LathamWicketkeeper-batter
Daryl MitchellAllrounder
Jimmy NeeshamAllrounder
Glenn PhillipsWicketkeeper-batter
Rachin RavindraAllrounder
Mitch SantnerAllrounder
Ish SodhiBowler
Tim SoutheeBowler
Will YoungTop-order batter

New Zealand Schedule for ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup 2023

New Zealand are placed in Group A along with England, South Africa, Afghanistan, India, Sri Lanka, Netherlands, and Bangladesh. They will play eight matches in the group stage, with the top four teams advancing to the semi-finals. Here is New Zealand’s schedule for the World Cup:

October 5EnglandNarendra Modi Stadium, Ahmedabad08:30 UTC
October 9South AfricaBharat Ratna Shri Atal Bihari Vajpayee Ekana Cricket Stadium, Lucknow08:30 UTC
October 13AfghanistanArun Jaitley Stadium, Delhi08:30 UTC
October 17IndiaHimachal Pradesh Cricket Association Stadium, Dharamsala05:00 UTC
October 22Sri LankaMA Chidambaram Stadium, Chennai08:30 UTC
October 26NetherlandsGreen Park Stadium, Kanpur08:30 UTC
October 31BangladeshEden Gardens, Kolkata08:30 UTC

New Zealand Performance in ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup 2019

New Zealand had an impressive performance in the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup 2019, finishing fourth in the table in the group stage with five wins and three losses. They faced India in the semi-final and won by 18 runs in a rain-affected match. New Zealand scored 239 runs in their 50 overs and then bowled out India for 221 runs. Matt Henry and Trent Boult took three wickets each and Kane Williamson scored a crucial 67 runs.

They faced England in the final and tied with them on 241 runs in their 50 overs and then again on 15 runs in the Super Over. They were declared the runners-up on the basis of having scored fewer boundaries than England.

Some of the key players for New Zealand in the 2019 World Cup were Kane Williamson, who scored 578 runs and became the third-highest run-scorer in the tournament behind Rohit Sharma and David Warner, Lockie Ferguson, who took 21 wickets and became the second-highest wicket-taker in the tournament behind Mitchell Starc, Ross Taylor, who scored 350 runs and became the second-highest run-scorer for New Zealand in the tournament behind Williamson, and Jimmy Neesham, who scored 232 runs and took 15 wickets and became the second-best allrounder in the tournament behind Shakib Al Hasan.

New Zealand Chances of Winning ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup 2023

New Zealand have a fair chance of winning the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup 2023, as they have a consistent and skilled team that can compete with any opposition. They have a solid batting line-up that can score runs and handle pressure. They have a potent bowling attack that can take wickets and defend totals. They also have some quality all-rounders who can contribute with both bat and ball. They have a proven record of reaching the finals in the last two editions, as they showed their resilience and excellence.

However, New Zealand also face some challenges and threats in their quest for glory. They have to cope with the absence of some key players like Guptill, de Grandhomme, and Blundell, who were part of their 2019 squad. They have to deal with some tough competition from other teams like England, India, Australia, and South Africa, who have their own strengths and ambitions.

New Zealand will have to play their best cricket and overcome all the obstacles to achieve their dream of becoming the first team to win the World Cup after being runners-up twice. It will be a fascinating and exciting journey for them and their fans.

I hope you enjoyed reading this blog post about the New Zealand cricket team for the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup 2023. Please share your thoughts and comments below. Thank you for your time and attention. 😊

Leave a Reply

Discover more from World's Wind

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue Reading